Adult Protective Services

June is Elder Abuse Prevention Month 

The month of June is designated as Elder Abuse Awareness Month. Elder abuse can take many forms, including physical, emotional and financial exploitation. Some signs that a person may be experiencing abuse, neglect or exploitation include unexplained cuts or bruises, lack of proper food and water, withdrawal, confusion, or isolation. 

This video provided coutesty of The Center for Elder Justice and Education,

If you suspect an adult is being abused, neglected, or exploited, call Adult Protective Services Statewide Intake, toll-free at 1-866-654-3219.

If you are a member of law enforcement, a medical clinic, fire department/fire rescue, or a financial institution, you may fax your completed report to Adult Protective Services Intake at 1-855-414-4885.

We are committed to protecting the safety of adults who are not able to protect themselves and to promoting the personal choice and self-determination of all we serve.

New Mexico has a “Duty to Report” provision in the Adult Protective Services Act (27-7-30) which states: “Any person, or financial institution, having reasonable cause to believe that an incapacitated adult is being abused, neglected or exploited shall immediately report that information to Adult Protective Services.” Adult Protective Services remains on call for emergent reports of adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

There are 5 Adult Protective Services Regions serving all 33 counties of New Mexico:

  • Northeast: Serving Santa Fe, Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Taos, Colfax, Union, Mora, Harding, San Miguel, and Guadalupe counties
  • Northwest: Serving San Juan, McKinley, Cibola, Valencia, and Socorro counties, in addition to part of Sandoval county
  • Metro: Serving Bernalillo, Torrance, and Sandoval counties
  • Southeast: Serving Lincoln, De Baca, Quay, Curry, Roosevelt, Chaves, Eddy, and Lea counties
  • Southwest: Serving Catron, Grant, Hidalgo, Sierra, Luna, Dona Ana, and Otero counties


Adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation are under-reported, yet can have severe or even deadly consequences. Older victims are four times more likely to be admitted to a nursing home, and have a risk of dying three times that of non-abused seniors. Adult Protective Services is the last resort for victims of elder abuse and younger adults with severe disabilities, serving as the “safety net for the safety net.”

Broad education of the public is necessary to ensure reporting of any suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation. APS is actively involved in outreach and training.

Alzheimer’s Association:

Persons with dementia are vulnerable to abuse, neglect and exploitation. Call the Adult Protective Services Statewide Intake at 1-866-654-3219 to report suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation.

Providing a voice for vulnerable adults who might otherwise go unheard…


Report facility abuse, neglect, or exploitation

A Silver Alert is a notification that gets sent out statewide, similar to that of an Amber Alert.

In partnership with the NM Attorney General’s Office, Aging and Long-Term Services has established Scam Alert notifications.

I need help. Where do I start? Call us. 1-800-432-2080

Need help? Click here to call us. 1-800-432-2080

Try Searching Click here to search.